rs 1024x759 200727182943 1024 collage 2 mp 7.27.20

Here Are All the Winners From the 2020 GLAAD Media Awards

On Thursday, GLAAD held their very first virtual edition of its 2020 GLAAD Media Awards. This comes after the coronavirus pandemic forced it to cancel its in-person ceremony. The popular media awards continued to honor LGBTQ visibility in music, film, television, journalism and more.

rs 1024x759 200730132617 1024 glaad media awards 2020.2

The Virtual ceremony was hosted by comedians, Fortune Feimster and Gina Yashere. It also featured performances by Tony Award-winner and “The Politician” star, Ben Platt as well as singer and activist, Shea Diamond.

Pose’s victory after Emmy Snub

pose fx 1

Winners in select categories were revealed throughout the day via Twitter and featured acceptance speeches from each of the award recipients. “Pose”, who were snubbed at the 2020 Emmy’s, slayed the ceremony, as they took home the award for Outstanding Drama Series.

cast of pose

The cast shared a few words about how the series shook up the TV landscape by honoring the LGBTQ community. And showing how the Black and Latinx trans and queer people unapologetically allow themselves to be their “own heroes”.

Schitt’s Creek, Booksmart, Lil Nas X and Dolly Parton


Meanwhile, “Schitt’s Creek” was awarded Outstanding Comedy Series. Show stars, Dan Levy, Karen Robinson and Noah Reid accepted the trophy. On the film side, “Booksmart” won for Outstanding Film-Wide Release. The cast, namely, Olivia Wilde, Beanie Feldstein and Kaitlyn Dever were remotely on hand to accept the award. Stars like Lil Nas X and Dolly Parton took home awards for their continued efforts in raising awareness for the LGBTQ community through their work.

chloexhalle do it glaad awards

The talented singing duo, Chloe x Halle closed the show with a performance of “Do It” featuring RuPaul’s Drag Race alums, Vanessa Vanjie Mateo, Mayhem Miller and Naomi Smalls.

Guest Appearances


The ceremony also featured appearances by Lena Waithe, Cara Delevingne, Ryan O’Connell, Jennifer Garner, Geena Rocero, Demi Lovato, Lilly Singh, Kandi Burruss, Dwyane Wade and Gabrielle Union. GLAAD President and CEO Sarah Kate Ellis was also a part of the celebrations.

2020 GLAAD Media Awards Winners List

Check out the full list of winners from the 2020 GLAAD Media Awards below.

glaadx750 1 0
  • Outstanding Film – Wide Release: Booksmart (United Artists Releasing)
  • Outstanding Film – Limited Release: Rafiki (Film Movement)
  • Outstanding Drama Series: Pose (FX)
  • Outstanding Comedy Series: Schitt’s Creek (Pop)
  • Outstanding Individual Episode (in a series w/o a regular LGBTQ character): “Two Doors Down”, Dolly Parton’s Heartstrings (Netflix)
  • Outstanding TV Movie: Transparent: Musicale Finale (Amazon)
  • Outstanding Limited Series: Tales of the City (Netflix)
  • Outstanding Documentary: State of Pride (YouTube)
  • Outstanding Kids & Family Programming [TIE]: The Bravest Knight (Hulu) and High School Musical: The Musical: The Series (Disney+)
  • Outstanding Reality Program: Are You the One? (MTV)
  • Outstanding Music Artist: Lil Nas X, 7 (Columbia)
  • Outstanding Comic Book: Star Wars: Doctor Aphra, by Simon Spurrier, Emilio Laiso, Andrea Broccardo, Wilton Santos, Caspar Wijngaard, Marc Deering, Don Ho, Walden Wong, Chris Bolson, Scott Hanna, Elsa Charretier, Rachelle Rosenberg, Chris O’Halloran, Stephane Paitreau, Lee Loughridge, Edgar Delgado, Jim Campbell, Joe Caramagna. (Marvel Comics)
  • Outstanding Video Game: The Outer Worlds (Private Division)
  • Outstanding Broadway Production: The Inheritance, by Matthew Lopez
  • Outstanding Variety or Talk Show Episode: Jonathan Van Ness: Honey, She’s An Onion With All Sorts of Layers” The Late Show with Stephen Colbert (CBS)
  • Outstanding TV Journalism – Newsmagazine: “Am I Next? Trans and Targeted” Nightline (ABC)
  • Outstanding TV Journalism Segment: “One-on-One with Mayor Pete Buttigieg” The Rachel Maddow Show (MSNBC)
  • Outstanding Newspaper Article: “Military Reports No Discharges Under Trans Ban — But Advocates Have Doubts” by Chris Johnson (Washington Blade).
  • Outstanding Magazine Article: “The Trans Obituaries Project” by Raquel Willis (OUT)
  • Outstanding Magazine Overall Coverage: Advocate
  • Outstanding Digital Journalism Article: “Trump Administration to LGBT Couples: Your ‘Out of Wedlock’ Kids Aren’t Citizens” by Scott Bixby (
  • Outstanding Digital Journalism – Video or Multimedia: “Stonewall 50: The Revolution” (NBC OUT and Nightly Films)
  • Outstanding Blog: My Fabulous Disease

Special Recognitions

  • Special Recognition: Special (Netflix)
  • Special Recognition: Karen Ocamb, former news editor, Los Angeles Blade
  • Special Recognition: Mark Segal, founder and publisher, Philadelphia Gay News
  • Outstanding Spanish-Language Scripted Television Series: El Corazón Nunca Se Equivoca (Univision)
  • Outstanding Spanish-Language TV Journalism – Newsmagazine [TIE]: “Después de Stonewall” (CNN en Español) and “Orgullo” Despierta América (Univision)
  • Outstanding Spanish-Language TV Interview: “Cómo y Cuándo Salir del Clóset” Un Nuevo Día (Telemundo)
  • Outstanding Spanish-Language TV Journalism Segment: “Amor Sin Condición” Noticiero Univision 33 (Univision)
  • Outstanding Spanish-Language Digital Journalism Article: “Soy Gay y Estoy Orgulloso de Poder Decirlo: Jorge Luis Martínez, patinador mexicano” por Mario Villagrán (GQ Mexico)
  • Outstanding Spanish-Language Digital Journalism – Video or Multimedia: “América a Fondo: Brigitte Baptiste, el Rostro de la (bio) Diversidad” por David Casasús (EFE)

The 31st Annual GLAAD Media Awards Virtual ceremony will air on Logo on August 3.

Also Read : News Highlights From July 2020

Anushka likes to use her great writing skills to curate articles on the Hollywood film industry, multichannel commerce, and online business strategies. She loves to share her ideas on Hollywood here at Clout News.

Leave a Reply