Video of Match Highlights : Sydney Thunder vs Brisbane Heat : Dec 19 2021 BBL

Video of Match Highlights: Sydney Thunder vs Brisbane Heat : Dec 19 2021 BBL

Syndey Thunder vs Brisbane Heat, 14th Match (N), Brisbane, Dec 19 2021, Big Bash League

Match Result: Thunder won by 53 runs

Player of the Match: Saqib Mahmood (4/22)

Match Report: Sydney Thunder ride to another win on the back of an all-round performance by the whole team. Thunder batted first and the top order made sure that they could end with a mammoth total. A score beyond 200 was definitely on cards but 196 was not bad either. Openers provided an excellent start, taking the team beyond 50 in the powerplay itself. Hales particularly looked dangerous and set to score big until he was caught out on a loose shot by Duckett. The pick of the batting order was obviously Sam Billings. It won’t be wrong to say that he took Sydney Thunder to an excellent position, capitalizing on the start the team got.

Bowlers did their job to perfection, particularly the debutant Saqib Mahmood. Brisbane Heat never looked like they were in the game. The first four batters, that is the top order, got out with no one reaching the double figures. Cooper showed some fight in the middle order, but it was ultimately the lower order who saved the face for Brisbane. They did not threaten enough to take the game away but made sure that the team did not lose big. NRR is a factor that comes in quite handy at the business end of the season, and this contribution from the lower order definitely has helped the Brisbane Heat.

Saqib Mahmood is the Player of the Match: “Everything was coming together. We started with hard lengths, and get the ball swinging. We [the English guys] were having a chat this morning… I joined the team this Monday itself. What a time to be a Somerset, England and Heat fan.”

Brisbane Heat (Playing XI): Max Bryant, Chris Lynn, Ben Duckett, Sam Heazlett, Tom Abell, Jimmy Peirson(w/c), James Bazley, Xavier Bartlett, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

Brisbane Heat X-factor Subs: Liam Guthrie, Tom Cooper

Sydney Thunder (Playing XI): Alex Hales, Matthew Gilkes, Jason Sangha, Sam Billings(w), Alex Ross, Daniel Sams, Ben Cutting, Nathan McAndrew, Chris Green(c), Saqib Mahmood, Tanveer Sangha

Sydney Thunder X-factor Subs: Gurinder Sandhu, Lachlan Hearne

Click Below to Watch the Full Video:

Avishkar Govardhane is a Sports Editor and enthusiast, working here at Clout News covering the latest Cricket News.

Leave a Reply

Clout Newsletter

Subscribe To The Clout Newsletter Below and Get The Best of Clout News In Your Inbox!