T20 World Cup 2021 : Netherlands announce their squad, legendary Ten Doeschate to play

Ryan ten Doeschate has been named in the Netherlands side for the T20 World Cup which will be led by Pieter Seelaar. Colin Ackermann has been named Vice-Captain while there was no space for Michael Rippon, Tom Cooper and Vivian Kingma.

A hard-hitting allrounder, Ten Doeschate’s bowling was initially seen to be his stronger aspect – he batted at No. 10 on first-class debut.For several years, his versatility and commitment made him a regular globe traveller. There were few players more immediately suited to the format of the shorter form of the game and he invited the question of how many more T20 stars exist beyond the main Test nations.In fact,ten Doeschate was the first Associate player to gain an IPL contract.He played five years for Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL.So pretty obvious from the description, the whole Netherlands country have high hopes from him in the World Cup.

Tobias Visee and Shane Snater will be the travelling reserves. Ten Doeschate last featured for Netherlands in 2019 – against Papua New Guinea – and makes a return with Timm van der Gugten, Brandon Glover, Fred Klaassen, Logan van Beek, Stephan Myburgh and Roelof van der Merwe.

How the T20 World Cup looks for Netherlands

“I am delighted to make this selection announcement for the 2021 T20 World Cup,” head coach Ryan Campbell said. “This is probably the toughest selection process I have gone through since starting my role as national coach. I am very satisfied with the mix between experience and youth in the team.He further added,”Colin will take on the role of vice-captain and it is fantastic to announce that veteran Ryan ten Doeschate is coming along to perform one more time at this tournament. Our strength has always been our group of fast bowlers and they have all had a great season, especially our county bowlers. I’m looking forward to seeing them make a serious impact at the World Cup.”

Netherlands will take on Sri Lanka, Ireland and Namibia from Group A to try and qualify for the Super 12 stage. They will play their matches on October 18, 20 and 22 in Abu Dhabi and Sharjah.

Squad: Pieter Seelaar (c), Colin Ackermann, Philippe Boissevain, Bas de Leede, Paul van Meekeren, Ben Cooper, Max O’Dowd, Scott Edwards, Ryan ten Doeschate, Timm van der Gugten, Roelof van der Merwe, Brandon Glover, Fred Klaassen, Logan van Beek, Stephan Myburgh. Reserves: Tobias Visee, Shane Snater.


Leave a Reply