Danni Wyatt earns her selection back into the England ODI squad

Having missed out against India earlier in the summer, Danni Wyatt has been recalled to England’s ODI squad for the upcoming series with New Zealand.

Wyatt made sure she was selected for the recent T20I series against New Zealand with a match-winning 89 not out in the final, series-decider T20 against India at Chelmsford in July, having been overlooked for the ODI leg of the multi-format series.
She was the third-highest run-scorer in the three-match T20 series against New Zealand – won 2-1 by England – with 84 runs at 28.00 and with a strike rate of 140.00. The last of her 77 ODI appearances came in New Zealand in February.
Also back into the squad were Kate Cross, who took 5-34 in the second ODI against India in June, and Lauren Winfield-Hill. Both missed out on the T20s against New Zealand.
In contention to make her international debut is Southern Vipers off-spinner Charlie Dean, who has been included in the 15-strong ODI squad.
Dean was part of England’s squad for the T20s against New Zealand but did not feature in the game, missing the first match after she and Vipers team-mate Maia Bouchier were identified as possible Covid-19 contacts. Bouchier made an impressive debut in the second match at Hove, scoring 25 off 24, and played the third, where she scored 1, but she was not included in the ODI squad.
Sophia Dunkley looks good to add to her tally of three ODIs after enjoying a successful season through the India and New Zealand series and the Hundred.
“We’re really looking forward to the Royal London Series,” Keightley said. “It’s a great test for us, and five more important ODIs ahead of the ICC Women’s World Cup next year.
“It’s a very busy schedule and we’ll need to work hard throughout it to ensure players are in the best position to get through it, and it may well be that we need to manage the group in order to do that.”
England: Heather Knight, (capt), Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Tash Farrant, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Danni Wyatt.
1st ODI, September 16, Bristol
2nd ODI, September 19, Worcester
3rd ODI, September 21, Leicester
4th ODI, September 23, Derby
5th ODI, September 26, Canterbury


Leave a Reply