CSK vs KKR: KKR win the toss and elect to bat first, Sam Curran in for CSK Sports

CSK vs KKR: KKR win the toss and elect to bat first, Sam Curran in for CSK

Author's avatar Avishkar Govardhane

Time icon September 26, 2021   | Last Updated: May 17, 2024 at 5:39 AM

CSK vs KKR, September 26, 15:30 IST

Jadeja’s last ball six against Nagarkoti in Dubai last year, Russell’s breathtaking knock of 88* at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in 2018 and the final of IPL 2012. These two teams have been involved in a number of memorable matches in the past. Loaded with talent, experience and a lot of fire are the Super Kings and Knight Riders. Not to forget, it’s a battle of two world class captains – MS Dhoni and Eoin Morgan.

Back in April, Chennai Super Kings posted a mammoth total of 220 and won that match by 18 runs as KKR’s top order was blown away by Deepak Chahar. The Knight Riders have looked different in the UAE though as compared to their performances in India.

Having beaten RCB and MI in successive matches, they’ll be riding high on confidence, but the battle gets tougher as they face the heat against CSK. A win for the Kings and they are back to the number 1 spot in the points table owing to their super net run rate, so both these teams would want to put their best foot forward.

The pitches in the UAE have been on the slower side, hence we haven’t seen many high-scoring encounters. Would be interesting to see how the pitches behaves as we move closer to the business end of the league stage. Chennai and Delhi are almost through to the playoffs, but anything is possible when it comes to the remaining two spots. RCB, KKR, MI, PBKS and RR – all of them stand in with a chance.

KKR win the toss and elect to bat first

KKR don’t have any changes in their playing eleven. Will be a different challenge for them as it’s a day game. There’s more pace in the wicket as compared to the last year. In this sort of heat, it might get slower later.

CSK have one change, Curran comes in for Bravo. Bravo had a few niggles in the CPL, so the yellow brigade need to make sure he doesn’t develop them further. 



Chennai Super Kings (Playing XI): Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni(w/c), Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Josh Hazlewood

Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Shubman Gill, Venkatesh Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, Eoin Morgan(c), Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik(w), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Lockie Ferguson, Varun Chakaravarthy, Prasidh Krishna