Kendrick, Cardi B, Eminem + More Among MTV VMAs Nominees for 2022

Hip Hop once again dominated the 2022 MTV Video Music Awards nominations released recently.

With seven nominations apiece, Kendrick Lamar, Jack Harlow, and Lil Nas X are in first place among all artists, followed by Doja Cat with six nominations. Cardi B, Future, and Baby Keem each get four nominations, while Drake and The Weeknd are up for five honors.

Eminem, Snoop Dogg, Nicki Minaj, Lil Baby, Pusha T, Megan Thee Stallion, Lizzo, JID, Doechii, SZA, and Latto are among the other candidates.

On Sunday, August 28, the Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey will host the 2022 MTV VMAs. From 8 p.m. ET, the awards presentation will be broadcast live on MTV and the CW Network.

Fans can cast their votes for their preferred nominees in the 22 categories, including Video of the Year, Artist of the Year, and Song of the Year, starting on Tuesday. Voting ends on August 19th, a Friday.
Lil Nas X, Jack Harlow, Latto, Busta Rhymes, and Doja Cat, who served as the show’s host last year, among others, all gave performances at the VMAs.

Lil Nas X’s “Montero (Call Me By Your Name)” won Video of the Year. For “Franchise,” Travis Scott, Young Thug, and M.I.A. won Best Hip Hop Video.

Full List of VMAs 2022 Nominees

Artist of the Year

  • Bad Bunny
  • Drake
  • Ed Sheeran
  • Harry Styles
  • Jack Harlow
  • Lil Nas X
  • Lizzo

Best New Artist, Presented by Extra® Gum

  • Baby Keem
  • Dove Cameron
  • Gayle
  • Latto
  • Måneskin
  • Seventeen

Push Performance of the Year

  • September 2021: Griff – “One Night”
  • October 2021: Remi Wolf – “Sexy Villain”
  • November 2021: Nessa Barrett – “I Hope Ur Miserable Until Ur Dead”
  • December 2021: Seventeen – “Rock With You”
  • January 2021: Mae Muller – “Better Days”
  • February 2022: Gayle – “ABCDEFU”
  • March 2022: Sheneesa – “R U That”
  • April 2022: Omar Apollo – “Tamagotchi”
  • May 2022: Wet Leg – “Chaise Longue”
  • June 2022: Muni Long – “Baby Boo”
  • July 2022: Doechii – “Persuasive”

Song of the Year

  • Adele – “Easy on Me”
  • Billie Eilish – “Happier Than Ever”
  • Doja Cat – “Woman”
  • Elton John & Dua Lipa – “Cold Heart (Pnau Remix)”
  • Lizzo – “About Damn Time”
  • The Kid Laroi & Justin Bieber – “Stay”

Best Alternative

  • Avril Lavigne f. Blackbear – “Love It When You Hate Me”
  • Imagine Dragons & J.I.D – “Enemy”
  • Machine Gun Kelly f. Willow – “Emo Girl”
  • Måneskin – “I Wanna Be Your Slave”
  • Panic! at the Disco – “Viva las Vengeance”
  • Twenty One Pilots – “Saturday”
  • Willow & Avril Lavigne f. Travis Barker – “Grow”

Best K-Pop

  • BTS – “Yet to Come (The Most Beautiful Moment)”
  • Itzy – “Loco”
  • Lisa – “Lalisa”
  • Seventeen – “Hot”
  • Stray Kids – “Maniac”
  • Twice – “The Feels”

Juspreet Kaur is pursuing English Hons. currently and is always curious to explore new approaches to Content and Creative Writing. An ardent fiction reader & writer who is always on the lookout for good work. She is a published poet who is always eager to connect with others!