IPL Begins! 2021 Finalists clash in the Season Opener: Match Preview

IPL Begins! 2021 Finalists clash in the Season Opener: Match Preview

Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders, 1st Match (N), Wankhede, Mar 26 2022, Indian Premier League

Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Toss Update: KKR won the toss and chose to bowl first

Head to Head: CSK 17 – 8 KKR

Preview: And so the IPL begins. The biggest T20 league in the world is back. This tournament promises to be an exciting one with two new teams making their way into the league. The first match is between CSK and KKR, the finalists of previous edition of IPL. But unlike last year, we have two new captains from either side. Ravindra Jadeja will lead CSK and Shreyas Iyer is set to captain KKR. Let’s have a close look at how the teams look.

CSK Preview: We will see a new man stepping out on the field for the toss. Just two days before the new cycle of IPL began, MS Dhoni stepped down as captain. He will play this season as a player, and the plan is simple and clear. In this season, Dhoni will make sure that Jadeja is trained right for the upcoming editions. It is truly the end of an era. Dhoni captained CSK for 12 seasons and in total 204 matches. Nothing can show for how long Dhoni has been the captain than the fact that he actually captained his current coaches. Mike Hussey and Stephen Fleming had played under the captaincy of him. That shows how long Dhoni held that position, and rightly so, he brought the results and fanbase to the franchise. 

Jadeja does not have any prior captaincy experience. But he is a capable guy. And the way he has improved as a cricketer in recent years, is simply staggering. It wouldn’t be a surprise if he goes on to the win the IPL for his team, such is the rate of his learning.

Injured/ Unavailable players: Moeen Ali won’t be available for the first match due to VISA delay.

KKR Preview: It’s been a long time since KKR have had their hands over the trophy. They came so close last year, after making a dramatic comeback. Their performances in India and then UAE were quite opposite. They have shown that they have the spirit in them. Now, a new man will lead the team. Shreyas Iyer will captain KKR, and given the way he captained DC; before a shoulder injury took that position away from him, we can say that he is extremely capable to lead the team into the playoffs, and eventually the trophy.

Injured/ Unavailable players: Tim Southee won’t be available due to personal reasons.

Avishkar Govardhane is a Sports Editor and enthusiast, working here at Clout News covering the latest Cricket News.