hojlwglgcyjp947p 1600176120 10

CMT Music Awards 2020: Nominees and Winners

This year’s CMT Music Awards honored the top names in country music with co-hosts, Ashley McBryde, Kane Brown, and Sarah Hyland.

The most nominations were earned by Ashley, Dan + Shay, Kelsea Ballerini, Luke Combs, Sam Hunt, and Thomas Rhett. First-time nominees included Halsey, Gwen Stefani, Marshmello, Riley Green, Gabby Barrett, Tanya Tucker, Blanco Brown, Travis Denning, Ingrid Andress, The High women, and Caylee Hammack.

Blake Shelton took to his social media to praise Gwen’s achievement and congratulated her for her first nomination. He wrote, “Congrats @gwenstefani on your first @CMT Awards nomination!!!!! Y’all go get those votes in!!!!”

The Chicks also received their first nomination after 2007 and was recognized in the categories Video of the Year and Group Video of the Year for their single “Gaslighter.”

The Award ceremony was supposed to air back in June, however, it got postponed due to the chaos of the ongoing pandemic. Performances of the ceremony took place in venues near Nashville. Nashville, Morgan Walle, Luke Bryan, Big Town, and Hunt, Maren Morris, all took the stage.

Other iconic performances included Shania Twain, Brooks & Dunn, a special collaboration from Ballerini and Halsey including Combs. The three hosts teased the show’s surprised after announcing that they would be hosting the ceremony.

Sarah expressed her excitement at the beginning of the month for being able to co-host at this year’s CMT Music Awards. She said, “Fans are the backbone of music and art; without them, we would never be able to do what we love. I can’t wait to see what happens at this year’s show and who the fans vote for. Congratulations to all the nominees!”

Kane added that he is excited to join this year as it is his first-time. Meanwhile, Ashley shared the sentiments as well but admitted to being a little nervous to host an awards show for the first time.

UNSPECIFIED - OCTOBER 21: In this image released on October 21, Sarah Hyland attends the 2020 CMT Awards broadcast on Wednesday October 21, 2020. (Photo by Rich Fury/CMT2020/Getty Images for CMT)

However, she said, “Luckily, it’s not all about me — it’s about celebrating bad ass music videos and the brilliant men and women that help us create them. I’ve loved watching and being part of this event in the past and I think the fans are really going to enjoy what we have planned for them. It’s going to be a blast!”

The list of winners and nominees are as follows:

Video of the Year

Ashley McBryde – “One Night Standards”
Blanco Brown – “The Git Up”
WINNER: Carrie Underwood – “Drinking Alone”
Dan + Shay – “I Should Probably Go To Bed”
Keith Urban – “Polaroid”
Kelsea Ballerini – “homecoming queen?”
Little Big Town – “Sugar Coat”
Luke Combs – “Beer Never Broke My Heart”
Miranda Lambert – “Bluebird”
Old Dominion – “Some People Do”
Sam Hunt – “Hard To Forget”
Tanya Tucker – “Bring My Flowers Now”
The Chicks -“Gaslighter”
Thomas Rhett – “Remember You Young”

Female Video of the Year

Ashley McBryde – “One Night Standards”
WINNER: Carrie Underwood – “Drinking Alone”
Gabby Barrett – “I Hope”
Kelsea Ballerini – “homecoming queen?”
Maren Morris – “The Bones”
Miranda Lambert – “Bluebird”

Male Video of the Year

Jason Aldean – “Got What I Got”
WINNER: Luke Bryan – “One Margarita”
Luke Combs – “Even Though I’m Leaving”
Morgan Wallen – “Chasin’ You (Dream Video)”
Sam Hunt – “Hard to Forget”
Thomas Rhett – “Remember You Young”

07 demi lovato aa bb7 27 fea billboard 1548 compressed 30

Group Video of the Year

Lady A – “Champagne Night”
Little Big Town – “Wine, Beer, Whiskey”
Midland – “Cheatin’ Songs (Live From the Palomino)”
WINNER: Old Dominion – “One Man Band”
The Chicks – “Gaslighter”
The High women – “Crowded Table”

Duo Video of the Year

Brothers Osborne – “All Night (Studio Performance)”
WINNER: Dan + Shay – “I Should Probably Go to Bed”
Florida Georgia Line – “Blessings”
LOCASH – “One Big Country Song”
Maddie & Tae – “Die From a Broken Heart”

Breakthrough Video of the Year 

Blanco Brown – “The Git Up”
Caylee Hammack – “Family Tree”
WINNER: Gabby Barrett – “I Hope”
Ingrid Andress – “More Hearts Than Mine”
Riley Green – “I Wish Grandpas Never Died”
Travis Denning – “After a Few”

Collaborative Video of the Year

WINNER: Blake Shelton with Gwen Stefani – “Nobody But You”
Carly Pearce and Lee Brice – “I Hope You’re Happy Now”
Dan + Shay & Justin Bieber – “10,000 Hours”
Kane Brown feat. Nelly – “Cool Again”
Marshmello & Kane Brown – “One Thing Right”
Thomas Rhett featuring Jon Pardi – “Beer Can’t Fix”

CMT Performance of the Year

Ashley McBryde – “One Night Standards” (From CMT Artists of the Year)
Brooks & Dunn and Luke Combs – “Brand New Man” (From CMT Crossroads)
WINNER: Chris Young – “Drowning” (From CMT Artists of the Year)
Halsey and Kelsea Ballerini – “Graveyard” (From CMT Crossroads)
Sam Hunt – “Fancy” (From CMT Artists of the Year)
Sheryl Crow and Chris Stapleton – “Tell Me When It’s Over” (From CMT Crossroads)

Christy likes to use her great writing skills to curate articles on the Hollywood film industry, multichannel commerce, and online business strategies. She loves to share her ideas on Hollywood here at Clout News.

Leave a Reply

Clout Newsletter

Subscribe To The Clout Newsletter Below and Get The Best of Clout News In Your Inbox!